Rennes – Marseille Preview - Ligue 1 Betting Tips

Rennes – Marseille Preview

Rennes’ coach Montanier made a significant change last round away at PSG when he decided to start with Ntep as striker.

Both forwards Toivonen and Habibou are in bad form and were left only on the bench. Ntep is usually a winger and it’s not yet clear if the overall offensive potential will be diminished or not with him in the striker position. In-spite the close score (PSG won only 1-0) the opponent was very powerful and managed to stop most of Rennes’ actions in the incipient stages.

There is no way of knowing if coach Montanier will start again with Ntep upfront or will give a chance to Toivonen.

Hosts will welcome back midfielder Lenjani after suspension but may miss important central defender Mexer who is doubtful at the moment.

Marseille fully dominated last round against Evian and they were a bit unlucky not to win with a bigger margin (finished 1-0). The referee also proved to be a major impediment as he canceled a perfectly valid goal.

Marseille have alternating results in 2015 and it seems away from home the overall strength diminishes considerably (lost both away from home games in 2015).

Guests may have some defensive problems this round seeing that defensive midfielder Romao is suspended and possible replacement Lemina injured.

If Ntep will be moved back on the left side his direct opponent will be Marseille’s fullback DjaDjedje who is very offensive minded and gives away many open spaces. Rennes will have a good chance of getting at least a draw in those conditions. But coach Montanier is unpredictable and it’s better to wait for the official lineups before placing any bets.

UPDATE: Rennes will have to do without suspended midfielder Konradsen but will welcome back fullback M’Bengue. Good news for Marseille as they welcome back Lemina.

Rennes: Costil, Sorin – S.Armand, S.Moreira, B.André, Diagne, Danzé, M’Bengue, Lenjani – Pajot, G.Fernandes, Doucouré, Brüls, Prcic – Habibou, P.Henrique, Toivonen, Ntep

Marseille: S.Mandanda, B.Samba – Aloé, B.Dja Djédjé, Fanni, Ben.Mendy, J.Morel, Sparagna, Tuiloma – Alessandrini, Imbula, Thauvin, Lemina, Ocampos – Batshuayi, Gignac, Omrani, Payet

RSS feed